Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Goodbye, neighbours!

An eventful night. Not only was Archie unsettled (growling to himself in the kitchen), but JR was violently ill. Yes - food poisoning, unfortunately. I have emailed the manager of the restaurant to inform him and he’ll ring me tomorrow with next steps. 

Sometimes Archie growls or barks in the kitchen at night, possibly because he sees the leaves moving outside the window, and I usually just shout at him from my bed. But we now have neighbours sleeping above, and so I can’t really frighten them by yelling ‘STOP THAT!’ in the middle of the night…

Denise came to take Archie out for a big walk. I popped up to see a doctor, as my X-ray assessment of ‘normal’ doesn’t really give answers. I got a different locum, which is good in a way, although there’s no continuity. But they do sometimes just see something nobody else has noticed. And she did. She reckons it could be the heart pills I’ve been taking for years, so she stopped one pill and halved the other dose. Fingers crossed that she’s hit on the cause of my breathlessness and extreme fatigue. She said, ‘You’ve had quite a lot of health problems, and you’re not that old…’ (Got it in one, doc!)

The neighbours popped in for blueberry muffins (Liv’s favourite) and to say goodbye. They’ve been great neighbours, and the young daughter could well be a top tennis player in the future. Hope so - the parents have certainly done everything they can to encourage her - even moving to Surrey because the tennis prospects - coaching and tournaments are much better. They popped back over in the evening for a photo. I completely forgot where the self-timer on the iPhone is… (Extra) 

Check out the change in the daughter from just a couple of years ago!!

In the afternoon I nipped to the hospital for a walk-in ECG. In and out in about 10 minutes.

And we have a new Prime Minister! He’s the youngest, the first British-Asian, and the richest. Good luck to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.