Linda’s next decade

By pixelpixie

Stitched up

This is a fragment of my dressing gown which was  an early pressie from P which I love. It's a patchwork of fabrics oversewn with a running stitch over the top of the patchwork pieces.  I really like the effect. And by coincidence  I  discovered today that the technique is a Japanese practice called Boro which refers to reworking and repairing textiles. I only found out by chance in  a random conversation with friends after ballet.  Clearly my dressing gown was 'boro'd" purposefully but I thought it a great sustainable eco friendly way to  repair and remake worn clothes rather than constantly replenish your wardrobe. (She said just answering the door to an item of clothing that has been delivered!) May take a bit of bit of practice! 
My contribution to the Tiny theme. Thank you DavidC for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.