Curl-up, relax and enjoy the show

I was at home, in my favorite bird spotting location, waiting for my chance to get a few images. It was a nice morning with many birds to choose from. A nice sunny day with dappled light for variety and occasional challenges. I had my longer lens on and was practicing using my new monopod. (It's a little strange and takes a bit of coordination between the left hand and the right hand, but I'm slowly getting the hang of it with only a few awkward moments.)

Out of the corner of my eye, I spot some movement on the ground. A chippie looking for a bit of bird seed. Could it be my old pal Chester? (No way to tell, as he doesn't have any distinguishing marks... but I'd like to think so... so let's just go with that.) :) It seemed to surprise him when he spotted me and he bolted. Darn, missed the shot. But a few minutes later he was back to the same rock and really checking me out. I nonchalantly continued shooting birds and Chester seemed to relax. He even curled up, like a cat does, to watch me do my thing. I occasionally swung the camera his way, and he didn't get up or even react. We went on like this for 10 minutes or more until a car came buy and he moved on.

Who knows if it was Chester. But he sure didn't behave like a normal chipmunk -twitching at every sound and fleeing at the sight of a human. It was kind of nice to have company on a photo shoot. ;)

Good to go large...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.