Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Mom's Window

Well, not just the window - There's a story.

Every year about Thanksgiving, my mother (AKA Mother Comfort) would buy Amaryllis bulbs for gifts, and would give them to people so they could add water and have a blooming flower in time for Christmas.

Late 2011, Mom was in hospital but didn't forget the Amaryllis tradition, so sent me off first to get them, then to distribute them. I got an extra one to greet her on her return home from health recovery, but as her arrival home got pushed further into the future, I delayed the feeding and watering of the bulb until I thought her homecoming was imminent, so she would be greeted by a fresh flower.

Unfortunately, her return home was not imminent as I thought but replaced with anticipation of coming to live with us. That too was laid aside as her health took a bad turn and she went Home, where she could enjoy all the flowers she could ever want.

Her Amaryllis bloomed in what had been her home, but was neglected until a few short weeks ago about the first anniversary of Mom's passing, I saw a sprout coming out of the pot of dead foliage, so I cleaned it up and watered it.

As it grew with great vigor, I waited with anticipation for the day it would bloom and I could Blip it.

Today is that day.

Merry Christmas, Mom!

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.