Winter picnics are BACK!

Oh the joy of the winter season, when we can eat our lunch at the beach and enjoy these late season dips! Summer is too hot and crowded...this time of year is just lovely. I was out and about in town this evening and the tourist season is well and truly finished - everywhere was closed and dark, it takes a bit of readjustment!!
Lots of washing for Davide on the streets, then my usual Wednesday coffee with the ES people. On my way home I bumped into a Greek friend from the streets from a long time ago, he's back sleeping rough as the room he was renting ended up being a scam. Brilliant to be back in contact, though sad that this is why.
I met Danny and the kids at the beach after school - baguette and cheese, buckets and spades...a brilliant couple of hours. Then home to sort something for Mitch's birthday next week and to head up to Sa Penya where we were meeting a few of the women to talk and pray. Being up there really is a feeling like no other, those times are when I get that feeling I'm exactly where I should be. Tonight we were sat round on the pavement under the orange street lights. Dogs running round, chickens too...and obviously kids. Lots of brilliant discussion about Jesus.

Today I'm grateful for;
1) The ES guys. Conversation ranged from childhood trauma to putting vinegar in with your washing!
2) Meeting a new woman up in Sa Penya.
3) The joy of the winter season where balance is attainable. 

Also our family are doing Ann Voskamp's 'Joy Dare' for November. Each day there's a theme for your gratefuls. Yesterday's was 3 gratefuls to do with food, today's is 3 to do with something worn...mine are; 
1) That I can wear my jeans again meaning the temperature is coming down finally. 
2) Beautiful earrings gifted to me and made by a friend. 
3) Kids in swimming costumes meaning they're having a lovely time and enjoying the island. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.