lovelife209

By mindful_life

Rainy run…

Another wild morning running dodging puddles that were more like lakes, listening to the squelch of soaking wet trainers. I ran with my friend Geri, who I’ve know for over a decade. We have been running together on and off over the years but a lot more regularly over the last year. It’s like our little therapy session in the mornings and I think it is fair to say we both benefit from it. Here we are post run as the darkness was turning to light.

A little gym session and then to work. I struggled today to remember to be present, except for concentrating on my work of course. The shrinking economy seems to be having an effect on my job now. A lot less work is coming in which I guess it to be expected.

My meditation today was done sat in my car. I used to do that a lot, finding any spare time I could to practice. It really is possible to fit it in everyday, as long as you make it a priority. 20 minutes of quiet focus on the breathe to quiet the mind. It’s six weeks until my retreat so crucial I keep this up everyday. Today, like many days, my mind was very much wandering into the future. Planning tomorrow, the weekend, next week. I’m a planner and always have been but the constant planning does take me away from the present. I’ll keep working on it. A valuable session today, like it will be every day….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.