Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Perhaps I should explain further. The employer would like me to work late every weeknight, dine on takeaway food, travel in taxis, sleep in hotels. I refuse to do any of that. I can cycle to and from work, work 9 hours, cook my own food and sleep in my own bed without too much difficulty. And two days a week I can work from home assuming that enough background information has been collated for me to do my job. If the information is not ready there is nothing I can do. I refuse to join in with the headless flapping and clucking that is going on all around me. 
Our senior management hadn't been born by the time my career began. Yes, when I was much younger there were occasions when I might work right through the night, but not any more and not for prolonged periods. It's a symptom of poor management and if I am forced to say so to their pretty little faces, then I shall. I have earned my wrinkles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.