Sad

This morning's dog walk was at least dry, and the sun broke through a few times, so it was pleasant to be in the Estate. I got back in time for an online chat with the excellent prospective PhD student who contacted me a few weeks ago. Although I'd exchanged a few emails with him, it's always an anxious moment when you first speak to someone you might be working with one-to-one for four years. He speaks good English, and we seem to be a perfect match in terms of what he and I want to work on.

Then came the news that the wife of long-term colleague K had died that morning. We knew that she was dying, but the end came very suddenly. They couldn't have children, so K will now be very lonely. I broke the news to a few close academic friends of K, which they appreciated.

In the afternoon I worked on a mini-symposium proposal until the light started to fail, and then took Django out for a walk to see Mum. She was in bed, and in low spirits. She was saying that reading, which has been her main occupation for years, is now getting hard. Unfortunately she has never been one to watch television, so occupying herself now is hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.