Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Thank You Card

This arrived in the post this morning in a good old-fashioned hand-written envelope.  The writing looked familiar and I made a couple of guesses.  Both Bb and I wondered if it was the earliest Christmas card ever.  Or could it even be a wedding invitation?   Well, it was a lovely thank you card from a friend in Scotland, who got married to his Canadian girlfriend earlier this year.  We couldn't go but gave a present.  If my friend Ph is looking in on this, yes, it's from your  'could have been' ;-) 

Rest of the day was spent getting stressed over an hour's 'demo' lesson I'm giving on Thursday morning on Zoom.  The trainees on this new course will be observing the class and I'll only meet them 5 minutes before we start and I haven't met the students either.  Don't even know how many yet.   I also have to give them a full lesson plan - for those who know, like Arachne, you'll know how much work goes into a full lesson plan on a CELTA course.  It's not so much the effort or time that bothers me as much as my believing that the trainees don't get as much benefit from these plans as merits the time and effort. They already have a bank of example lesson plans. I'd rather they were watching the students than checking that a stage took me eight minutes instead of the planned five.  I never used to get so nervous for face-to-face lessons.   Maybe it's because I haven't been delivering training on Zoom since my last class in March?  Or maybe I'm getting nervous about more things these days?  Anyway, I'll be glad when it's over.  

An aside, but connected.  The friend who sent me this card used to get super nervous about those 'demo' lessons when we worked together in Budapest and I remember telling him not to think about them as 'demo' lessons, but just go and teach a normal class.  I should take my own advice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.