Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hamish!

Jane took Archie out again this morning. They went across the Meadows to check out the herd of lions, who are still there.

I fiddled about looking for a slow cooker chicken recipe, and with ingredients that I had. Found one. I do like the slow cooker - you just bung everything in, go away and come back six hours later to a meal. 

In the afternoon, JR went in to her favourite shop (JL) to get zloties for our upcoming trip. Archie and I took a walk down to the meadows, though not as far as the lions. We met Hamish and his dad, who’s very excited to be starting his new job - in Cambridge! Being old school, I just can’t get my head around this concept, getting a job 100s of miles away, but staying home.

Archie and Hamish were pleased to see each other, though they then ganged up and barked at Boris, a schnauzer they both know. Profuse apologies to Boris’s mum. 

I asked Hamish’s dad if he had a sander, and could I borrow it. For weeks, we’ve been unable to close the boiler cupboard door, which also houses Archie’s kibble. The door has warped at the top, and if we close it fully, we can’t open it again. Most inconvenient. However, it was a two minute job and I wish I’d got it sanded as soon as it happened. So I felt quite accomplished with that job done, and an evening meal ready. I almost deserved a whole Lindt Chocolate Santa, but I’m on a diet…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.