Grey Heron

My last visit for a few days as we are taking a short much needed break. I didn't think I was going to see any of them today as it was blowing a gale at the loch and they do not like the windy weather. There was no sign of the young one or the older female so I made my way up to the other end of the loch - it was a bit more sheltered there. The males were up to their usual nonsense but I managed to feed them both. I made my way way back and was followed half way by the young male. I gave him a bit extra and carried on. When I reached the other end I saw the young one fighting the wind to land on the rail of the viewing platform. Much more stressed than yesterday. She eventually jumped to the water and was joined by the older female. I quickly fed them and watched them both take off to the shelter of the trees at the centre of the loch. 
Whilst I will miss seeing them I am confident they will be there when we get back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.