My Restless Lens

By terri365

Builder's Sketch

It was the only photo I took today (yesterday - posting late).  A sketch ofr a wee extension which will look lovely!  Well, in my opinion anyway!

In other news, the client who converted his garage without permission sent me "proof" of all the work he did way back when - Building Standards asked for this so he dug out some photos rather than open up the structure.  I had to call him and tell him that there was no way I was submitting 3 of the photos as they would flag up issues.  I can't remember how I worded it but I gave him hints that I knew the photos were not of his project.  It was pretty clear they were not.  I think he got the message loud and clear because he quickly said he would get a builder in and rectify the problem.  They are trying to sell their house and they are running out of funds but you can't argue with Building Standards - they are only doing their job to ensure the build is correct..  The build hasn't been done correctly, that much is clear.  I do feel kind of sorry for him as he was ill advised by his builder who told him he did not need a Building Warrant but then he should have confirmed this himself.

If I had sent the photos in it would be my reputation on the line also and I could be flagged as a potential dodgy character!  When it comes to building there is a reason we have regulations and yes, some of them are a bit ridiculous but when it comes to the stability of the structure I am a stickler!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.