Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

As Beddgelert is just a few miles away I thought it was about time I visited the grave of the famous dog Gelert from which the village gets its name.  Lots of information online if interested.  

Last night I  came across some other information about the village which is of interest to me which is Alfred Bestall, the author and illustrator of Rupert Bear lived in the village for 30 years.  As I spent many years working for the Daily Express in the department which produced the Rupert Bear books I thought I'd try and find the house.  Amazingly I did.   Its now a holiday cottage and there's a plaque on the wall about Alfred Bestall .... extras.  Whilst I was working there my department did a limited reprint of the original first edition Rupert Bear book and I was lucky to be given one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.