pigment to paint

It was bivvy night last night so I was awake early, returning to the house when planes outnumbered stars in the sky.  There was a thin veneer of frost on my bivvy bag, but I'd been warm all night. Dawn gave way to a lovely sunny morning and it was so good to se blue sky for a change!

This is a weekend of workshops for D and me - learning new stuff and being creative :-) Today's was D's choice and I went with him; tomorrow Is the one I liked and he is going to accompany me, so we will have plenty to talk about.

Both workshops are at Cample Line , a gallery space between Closeburn and Thornhill. Today was "Pigment to Paint" which taught us about finding natural pigments from our local environment, then grinding, mulling and binding them to make paint. Here is D having tried out some paints made from brick dust, wood ash, rust and chimney soot. The workshop was run by the lovely Edward and Lucy from The Old Mill at Palnackie. It's wonderful to live in an area where there are so many creative people. 

Watch this space to see what I have chosen for tomorrow (unless you have looked at the Cample Line link and guessed already!

Extra is some of my samples

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.