Sheffield

Continuing from the previous post --

03.00 UK time or thereabouts -- I knew I was not going to make it without a shut eye, so I parked somewhere, can't remember where, and dozed for a little more than an hour.  Back home, both AW and Gubs were asleep, but I left update messages.
04.15 -- On the road again!  This time, no hitches.
 
I had never before done left-hand side driving, so I 'hugged' the left side to be sure I stayed 'correct'.  Ended up exiting somewhere I wasn't supposed to be, and it took quite a while to get back to where I had to be.  UK roundabouts are confusing to me but I had no time to get used to them.  To liven things up a bit, around 06.00, England was awake and on the road en masse, and the M1 was full of mini jams.
 
09.00 -- Guess what?  I finally arrived at the client's!  A multinational and transnational with a factory in Wakefield.  I was given a flaming orange vest as this was required, then told to drive to Door 2.  The designated person would be waiting for me.  All in all, the handover and acknowledement signature took no more than 5 minutes.  Twelve hours of travelling for a precious 5 minutes, and the packet was about half the size of an A4 sheet.  I sure hope the spare part was worth it.  You'll notice a rise in price of the product in the supermarket... or not.

What was unpleasant was the dry joke I got from Gubs, who said that it could well have been faster, and with such a spare part I should not even have permitted myself the pleasure of an hour's rest.  I flared up at that, and told him that I could have met my death on the road last night, nodding behind the wheel.  Gubs the Gaashole.

Despite the lack of sleep, I was now fully awake.  Phoned AW and told him I would go to Sheffield and have a look around, and have a decent brunch somewhere.  The drive to Sheffield was uneventful.  There was not much time or energy to really explore, but the Leopold Hotel was close to the parking garage, and I ordered a full, decent early lunch.  Took advantage of the hotel WiFi to update AW on where I was, and Gubs as well, who now sounded contrite.  Hmph.  After that, still fully awake, I thought I'd find my way back to the M1 for a leisurely drive back to the south.  Gubs had suggested the A1 passing close to Peterborough and Cambridge, but I could not find the connection, so I ended up on the scenic route through various villages between Sheffield and Nottingham, not stopping anywhere but admiring the autumn colours on the hills.  After 1.5 hours of that, I was back on the M1.  After another hour on it through various mini jams, I stopped at a Welcome Break services area for the toilet, then back to the car for what I thought was going to be a long nap.  To my surprise, I woke up after a deep power nap of 20 minutes and felt fine enough to go on again.

The M1 is one long pile up with some hiccups during Friday afternoon rush hour, but I stuck to it until I got to the M25, which I now found without any difficulty whatsoever.  I knew it was going to be a lengthy stretch till the exit to the M2 on the way to Canterbury.  Just when Teqla's tank was down to its last milliliters, I found a Services area.  Back on a roundabout and realized it was not going to lead to the M25, but I stuck on it and the M25 was waiting at the other end, and joy of joys, the sign 'Canterbury' was now clearly indicated.  Found the M2, which was not under construction on this side of the motorway.  I was amazed at how far I still had to go.  Eventually found the A2 and the town, and the Falstaff Hotel, which was where I had planned to overnight.  They gave me a super cozy room.  They do not serve dinner.  The bar was open but I was in no mood for that.  Hooked up the laptop and caught up with mail, updated both AW and Gubs, took a much-needed shower, did laundry, set my alarm, and conked out.  The Front Desk had asked me earlier what time I expected to come down for breakfast, and I said 10.00.

I was too tired to even post yesterday's shot.  Now I understand what couriers go through.

This was the only picture I took in Sheffield.  I wanted to enter the Cathedral for a quick visit, but there was a graduation ceremony taking place and visitors weren't encouraged.  No matter, I got my shot.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.