Sample 2

While Mr Flum was over at Miss Flum's doing something technical I wrestled with knitting the Bernat Klein wool - counting the number of patterns, the resulting dimensions against available yarn to determine the width and length of the scarf/stole/whatever.

My mental arithmetic capability is nil and not much better on paper but I eventually concluded that the pattern I was using (Butterfly) was too dense and I needed one with a looser texture (more holey) to make the yarn go further. In particular I am using lateral pattern rather than linear, to minimise the compression when worn.

So here's another one, called Openwork Slip Stitch, worked over 4 stitches and 4 rows (instead of 10 stiches and 12 rows) so simpler to adapt to size and not overly complex in construction. After a few errors I can see how this might turn out; it does produce a larger area than the Butterfly but I have yet to calculate the total area I could achieve and possible dimensions.

Failing this, there's another pattern I might try, although I'm thinking this will be a scarf rather than a stole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.