From the shore to the church

11.6C with a morning of clear blue sky and an afternoon of grey cloud and showers. Breezy.

The forecast was for a dry morning with cloud and rain coming along in the afternoon. I decided to dig over a small veg bed that runs between a path and one of the three back lawns. There is lavender at one end and chives in the middle. It looks much better dug over and it can be sown any time. Perhaps tomorrow if it is dry. More beetroot, chard, and spring onions. Maeve the Deerhound came out and lay on the lawn nearby and supervised the digging.

I took Maeve out for her walk before lunch as I could see clouds gathering in the distance. It was quiet as we walked down the field, but we did meet some dog walkers on the beach. We wandered about on the damp sand as the tide was out a bit. I collected a few small bits of old pot to scatter on the tops of the containers with mint plants.

It felt great to be out and about and down on the beach today. The air was very clear and breeze was fresh and out of the East. I had Capercaillie on the Nano and all was definitely right in my small part of the world.

As we were coming up off the beach we noticed two men moving the boat that was turned the right way up recently. The one over near the car park. They have moved it out of the depression in the grass area at the back of the beach. It is now sitting upright beside another old boat. I had originally thought they were putting it on a trailer to take away, but it seems not. I am curious to find out if it will stay where they have left it.

I got more boat shots today. 'Valhalla VI' in the water, which was calmer today, and 'Shamara II' lying on the sand. However, this big sky over the country church, the old school, and the Old Manor is the shot I have chosen to post. Just to be even more different I chose to post it in B&W :-)
Better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.