Morning glow

A day of working from home and a visit from an engineer to upgrade my broadband to full fibre. The emails said it could take up to 3 hours but he was done within an hour and I only lost internet connection for about 10 minutes when he switched it over. What I hadn’t really appreciated was that my phone line would no longer work. They give you a Digital Voice phone that works via the internet but of course that won’t work in a power cut. So I’ll have to rely on my mobile being charged. I know we very rarely have power cuts these days - I guess I’m thinking back to the seventies when I’d phone my friend during the power cuts as there wasn’t much else to do! We’ll see what the quality of the calls is like but I don’t think there’s any going back. And I’m still waiting for the promised download speeds to materialise - apparently it can take up to 10 days for some reason - I don’t understand this technology!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.