Plus ça change...

By SooB

Good year for the roses

A definite two-season year for roses, even more than usual. The hot weather stopped them in their tracks, with fat flower buds withering and dropping off in July. But since September they’ve been going great guns, and are showing no sign of stopping. This is the miniature rose that the kids bought me ten years ago - it’s gone from 6 inches to three feet tall and has hundreds of flowers every year despite nothing that you might call care.

The big excitement today was the heating engineer showing up (early - I was still in PJs). Typical - I’ve been waiting for them to come and sort it out since May, and then they’re early!

Long story short, my office is now warm, though the repercussions may carry on as there is now a dispute about the maintenance contract I signed which may not include, err, maintenance. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.