A Happy Place

On This Day In History
1978: San Francisco leaders Harvey Milk and George Moscone are murdered

Quote Of The Day
"All young people, regardless of sexual orientation or identity, deserve a safe and supportive environment in which to achieve their full potential."
(Harvey Milk)

It doesn't seem too big of an ask, Harvey. That a park should be a place of  innocent fun and laughter; of footballs, frisbees, skipping ropes and children running freely and joyfully. Yet so often, they become places of syringes, lungs, flick-knives and broken bottles. 

Once again, the big kids have come along, taken over the swings and slides and made a place that used to be fun (although always with a sinister threat lurking behind the bushes) a place of danger. I'm talking about Facebook. Apparently, countless accounts are being cloned so that is the final straw that has made me decide to leave Facebook. Actually, I have been considering doing so for a few weeks now, growing tired of being a pawn in the game played by fearmongering media corporations (and Russian cyber-terrorists, I have little doubt) pumping the masses with apathy and stirring up division and discord. I felt so much happier when I stopped watching C.N.N. about ten years ago, and I have a feeling I will feel somewhat the same when I quit Facebook. So this will be my final Blipfoto shared on Facebook and Blipfoto will be my sole form of social-media.

Let's hope the big kids don't come and ruin this place. I like it here and I would hate to have to leave.

Violent Playground

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.