Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Theft

Last week I had an electric heater delivered from Amazon (serves me right, I know!). The driver left the parcel on the porch, which cannot be seen from the road, and off he went. Less than three minutes later someone came and stole the package - they must either have been following the Amazon driver or are in cahoots with him, he went directly to the package, didn’t even look around or check if anyone was in, then made off in the same direction he came, so there’s no way he happened to be passing by.

Amazon aren’t interested - they refunded me without any question whatsoever. Despite me having it all on three different security cameras, the police aren’t going to even look at the footage. I’ve now left a sign in the door saying no parcels are to be left in the porch, despite which we’ve had several left since. The drivers are under huge time pressure, paid poorly and not vetted in any way - it’s Amazon who are out of pocket here but really we all lose.

I doubt my new sign will make a difference - I can but try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.