Family Dog

By Family_Dog

...as it turns out...

It ended up being a va-va-voom dress kind of night after all. It also ended up being a glo-stick bangle and comfy trainer kind of night too. A 'can't go to the loo while this tune is on' kind of night. A 'look at all my amazing friends having such a great time' kind of night.

A much needed kind of night.


Yesterday ended up being the sort of day with your baby that Eastenders make story lines out of. I could totally see how people can snap when their babies don't or won't or can't stop crying. Arlo managed to cry for approximately 20 hours give or take a few hours. That included crying ALL the way back in the car from Perth to Edinburgh while I was driving on my own with him and for 2 3/4 hours after I put him to bed before I managed to drag myself away and go out.

Bloody hell. Today has been much better though. My mum and lovely husband were right - I really did need that night out. I didn't think I would have such a great time after the day I'd had but it's amazing what a bit of time with Corona, amazing tunage and loads of your good friends can do for you.

Friends of ours have started up a (what would you call it? A club? A party? A gathering? Let's go with party) party celebrating Old Skool dance music. Three of our friends played including The Bill who was a regular at Pure back in the day (and was absolutely stupendous) and we all just bounced around dancing our heads off and laughing and grinning and just looking round in wonder. It probably sounds a bit cheesy to those of you who don't look back to that kind of music and remember it as the soundtrack to the time in your life where everything was so exciting, so fresh, so full of potential. But for us, once we'd sorted out the babysitters, it was the chance to catch up with old buddies and quite literally dance our arses off.

There's a websitewith some mixes from the guys who'll be DJing (Bry's going to be getting one up over the next few weeks and has been asked to play at the next one) and if you want to know when the next one is then leave me a wee message and I'll give you the details - you won't regret coming it was absolutely brilliant.

For a night of pure hedonism, boozing, smoking, shouting over the top of the tunes it was the healthiest night out I've been on in a loooooong time.

Hooray!! And it's bank holiday weekend too so Sunday night is curry and The Wire and tomorrow we're going to do something lovely. Joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.