Helwild

By Helwild

Bluebells in Parrot's Drumble

On the advice of a colleague (thanks Jackie!), I visited a local nature reserve - Parrot's Drumble - owned by the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust. I was looking for bluebells. I found a few....thousand million!!! Looking in any direction was a sea of blue.

The name comes from the previous owners - the Parrot family and a local name for a stream running through a wooded valley - drumble.

It was a delight!! It was difficult to decide how to take a shot as the floor was just covered, but the smell was intoxicating. I managed to find a few areas where there was a little space between the bluebells and here's one of the photos I took. I've put another in my blipfolio just to show what the coverage was like.

The only downside to this lovely spot is it is right next to a very busy dual carriageway (A500), so it wasn't quiet and peaceful, but still a great spot for bluebells and lots of other woodland flowers and plenty of birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.