Shine-A-Light

By gblrps

St Enochs Clock - Gregory's Girl

Weather still not too clever. I had to be in Cumbernauld most of today, well I suppose someone has to do it! Actually got a few decent pictures at Palacerigg but then I selected this one just because of the interest in the subject.

When I worked in Cumbernauld this was a famous landmark and meeting place. The massive Clock was originally from St Enoch station in Glasgow and after it closed it was gifted to Cumbernauld back in the 70s. It most famously featured in the film Gregory's Girl.

I took it this afternoon, which immediately tells you its not working. Then one of the centre managers approached me and told me its actually forbidden to photograph it!!? Then I found this website which campaigns to get stopped clocks working. Maybe that's why they have banned further photographs.

Forget the Credit Crunch. Forget the scandal of M.Ps. expenses. Let's campaign to get all public clocks working. You can even buy the T Shirt!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.