Bark Ascending

My God today was cold! Overnight we'd had another extremely hard frost but we still decided we would head out early just as it got light.
We settled on a walk down to our local village via Ferryfields (it's official name is actually Ferryfield Recreation Ground) and then along the river. The frosty expanse of the field with its tree lined perimeter did look fantastic in the pale winter light but for some reason I couldn't seem to get an image I was happy with.
As we continued our walk along the riverside path I could finally begin to feel my fingers and toes again. I then spotted this log from some recent tree clearing that had been carried out along the riverbank and I just loved the layers of detail enhanced by the frosty conditions (please view large!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.