My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

King of the glade

"This glade is mine! All ladies are mine! Get out you bastard"

Had opportunity to watch two Mourning Cloaks/Camberwell Beauty's/ Suruvaippaa having a territorial fight.
It's worth looking LARGE
It all happened in air. They were tireless flyers, so quick I couldn't even focus on them. They keep getting over treetops spinning around each others.
I lost track of time, but I'm sure I watched them almost an hour . Whole time this other challenger keep coming back. And their wild dance started again.

I studied them afterwards from comp, and learnt female is a slightly bigger sized. So I'm pretty sure this spectacular show was territorial argument rather than mating. Butterflies were exact same size (abut 5 cm wide wings open). Here you can see it wings open.

Rather nice day, warm and sunny. Tomorrow is Mothers day.
Have nice Saturday lovely ones!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.