meayrs

By meayrs

The picaflor - an intangible, ephemeral blur

This little picaflor (aka colibri or humming bird) has been driving me crazy since I arrived here in San Martín. In full knowledge that he is a photographer's dream he has been winding me up by dive bombing me when I go outside (have you ever heard the beating wings of a humming bird next to your ear?) and hovering outside the window of my study as I try to work, eying me coyly with his cheeky, 'catch me if you can' attitude. So I put out a sugar water feeder and have been trying for two weeks now to get a reasonable shot. I can't claim this is the world's best photograph, but it has probably been the most time-consuming photograph I have ever taken and I reckon it's good enough for my blip today. Oh, yes, the quote is from Mira Bartok's memoir The Memory Palace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.