Favourite View

A nostalgic trip to York (following the coldest start ever (-8 this morning brrr! It took me half an hour to de-ice the car.) 

I haven't been back to York often since I graduated in the late 90s, but there is always a tremendous feeling of 'coming home' when I see the Minster and the surrounding area. The cold snap meant that I (and every other tourist) was treated to glorious golden light which hit the Minster in the late afternoon. 

I have always loved the view of the Rose window from Minster Gate. I was glad to see that the Great East Window was free of scaffolding but I wasn't able to go in due the services being held in the afternoon. Still, it gives me a reason to return...

Although the Christmas lights along Petergate etc were lovely, the Minster itself wasn't lit externally, so I've plumped for this image.

The extras show the same view after dark, the 'front' of the Minster and a shot I rather liked of Micklegate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.