Murphy's Lore

By stevemurphy

LU4 and LU1

I bought a book many years ago by David Bailey called NW1 - it was published in 1982. In it Bailey's intention was to find subjects in his immediate neighbourhood which offered the minimum amount of obvious visual stimulus ...

I've returned many times to this book and always thought - one day I'll do something like that - well maybe this blip is the start of a beautiful friendship. My immediate neighbourhood is LU4 - I grew up in LU4, went to school in LU4, had my first girlfriend in LU4, bought my first house in LU4, both children were born in LU4 and we still live in LU4 so I will - over the next however long - try and document what LU4 and LU1 are all about (I'm guessing my other series #GotD may well overlap with #LU4 and #LU1).

This is Dominic Square - we used to come here every Friday night with Mum to do the weekly shop (before the days of superstores) - Friday night at Dominic Square meant a cold walk to the shops, a boring walk around the shops but a better walk home because while Mum was paying for the shopping, me and my brother would go off to the chippy for fish and chips for dinner. *smiles*

Previous LU1 and LU4 tags.

As an aside I just checked and Bailey's NW1 is selling for over £200 here - I think I paid £5 in the late 80s for it - so not a bad investment - I wonder if I can get David to sign it ...

Italics above quoted from NW1

Nikkor MF 50mm prime @ f5.6

Apologies for changing the picture but due to the subject and series I thought this one I just took while getting the paper more appropriate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.