Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

On the street where I live

People stop and stare, they don't bother me
For there's nowhere else on earth that I would rather be
Let the time go by, I won't care
If I can be here on the street where we live

Tonight was living proof that I am a very lucky man with my neighbourhood of the last twenty six years. A little cluster of thirteen houses situated rather wonderfully halfway between town and village, but with a fabulous collection of people. So we threw a little pre-christmas drinks party and the majority of our neighbours turned up and we had the most fantastic evening. The most senior local resident has lived here for over fifty years; the most recent moved in three weeks ago. 

I cannot begin to tell you how relaxed and enjoyable it was. Topics ranged from the difficulties of welding steel beams to whether Vladimir Putin would invade Woking; who would do what in the post apocalypse bunker situation; what a brilliant series Wednesday was; marzipan recipes; the history of the neighbourhood and its residents; and the surprising fact that the car used in the film Chitty Chitty Bang Bang was made locally. There were many other topics of conversation but it was a surprisingly boozy affair and I can't recall them.

It was in fact such a good evening that I didn't take any photographs as I was too busy enjoying myself. But this street scene in our hallway is a good approximation. Tonight really was what Christmas should be all about.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.