Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Mother's Day

The joy in this image is immeasurable. I took a photo of this old print today, to remember and honor my mother.

May 14, 1995 - My Mom held her first-born grandchild, my daughter, in her arms while Marissa was Baptised in a quickly-arranged private ceremony. Cancer & chemo had taken their toll on Mom's body, but love lifted her indomitable spirit. The disease may have ravaged her life, but it could not conquer her soul. She infected everyone around her with a contagious happiness and good will. Now she lives on in the faces of my four children and my brother's three darlings. While Marissa is the only one of her seven grandchildren that Mom lived to hold in person, they all hold a piece of her heart and share some of her many gifts and talents. She would be enormously proud of them.

I am honored to be my mother's daughter, and my children's mother. Never was there a better gift than to be a loved daughter, nor a greater profession than a blessed mother.

And in other news of the day....
Late this afternoon fellow blippers Kettwigefrau and her Dad Tedwin came by for a visit. I'd promised Tedwin after this blip that I would take him on his next visit from England to see our local Bismarckturm. Here are a few of the shots I captured today. It was raining when we arrived, but cleared up during our tour just enough to get a couple nice photos. A lovely little blip-meetup!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.