Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Nutcrackers for Christmas

A dark and wet Christmas day here, what's fine for cooking for tomorrow's dinner with my kids and reading the book "Holland" by Rodaan al Galidi whom I pictured in 2016. He's stated that this book of his tells his story of his journey amongst the Dutch and into the Dutch minds, hearts and heads. The cover of the book has another quote of his: "The Netherlands have changed me and that change is larger than the reed that changes into a flute. The reed that has become a flute has lost her roots. She receives a couple of holes. She can't grow in her life anymore and not dance in the wind either, but she can disappear in the breath of others. I have lost my roots, my soil, my waters and my air. And all over I have holes too, in my soul, in my heart, in my hands and in my bag. That's the price for all who flee from their native country". 

His story captivates me and reminds me of all who must flee from their native countries because they are threatened by dangers of warfare or anger of rulers. So many countries we can name here where peoples lives are threatened... how I wish that Peace is paramount on earth for all!

This photo I took the other day and comes out handy today as a sort of EB ~ Wishing you all a very Happy Boxing day tomorrow!

and thank you all lots for your reactions upon yester Xmas blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.