Sprint & Spirit

By jerryshi734

Mainz Fútbol

Ha, I wish American sports were this legit in some respects. We took the train to Mainz to watch FSV Mainz 05 vs. Borussia Monchengladbach. The Borussia fans on the train were rowdy, but one guy was nice to us, and we chatted with him for a while. The first thing we noticed when we got off was that there were a lot of police around town. Apparently it's a precautionary thing. Kinda makes sense, since fans from both teams were singing loudly all throughout the city. Other than that, it was civil.

Anyways, since I was in charge of directions, I got us on the wrong bus first at first because that's what my train ticket said to do. Turns out there was a shuttle from the main train station to the stadium, duh. The arena was in the middle of a grassy field. That's pretty cool, considering most American stadiums are in the city, so you don't get the scenery.

As for the game itself, Mainz lost 2-4. I love the singing and percussion. In Europe, the big deal seems to be scarves. There was a song before the game where everyone held up their scarves. It was a pretty cool scene. I bought a Bayern Munich scarf a couple days ago and a Mainz jersey at the game today, so those are my trip souverniers for now haha.

Shalom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.