Let me think

Can’t say I’m a fan of when places try and play clever with the signs on the toilet doors. Always makes me second guess and even after a decision has been made I worry I’ve gotten muddled. Thankfully the signs in Marshalls also include people so can work it out but still.

A good lunch though

Loons and Quines are fairly standard Doric words in these parts and I was aware of them at least.

From the Scotsman

Quine, or quene, is used nowadays as a word for girl or young woman. The earliest written record of the word is from 1617, according to the Dictionary of the Scottish Tongue (DOST), when it was used to describe a servant girl. Whilst loon is now used to mean boy, it dates back to at least the 1450s in DOST, where it was recorded as "loun" meaning "a worthless person"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.