new year's revolution

Many years ago - many, many years ago in fact, I promised Anniemay I'd take her to Giverny to visit Monet's Garden.  It never transpired and she had to make do with a book instead.  

But she's been patient long enough and for all sorts of reasons, I resolve to make the trip this year.  If I can manage India, I can manage France.  And it gets better......

I see from an article in the paper that there is to be a major exhibition of paintings by Vermeer in Amsterdam this year.  The largest collection ever assembled in one place. (I'm a great fan of Vermeer).

While checking out trains to Paris on The Man in Seat 61's website, I notice that it is now possible to get from London to Amsterdam by train in 4 hours.  Not only that - Amsterdam to Paris takes only three and a half hours.

So that's the plan; London - Amsterdam - Paris - London by train.  In May.  Yay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.