Need Without Feeling

On This Day In History
1999: Bill Clinton's impeachment trial begins

Quote Of The Day
"I did not have sexual relations with that woman, Ms. Lewinsky."
(President Bill Clinton)

Bonus Quote Of The Day
"... I experimented with marijuana a time or two, and didn't like it. I didn't inhale it, and never tried it again."
(President Bill Clinton)

There was a time when a presidential candidate admitting that he had used illicit drugs for recreational purposes would have immediately ended his campaign. I imagine that at that time, a serving U.S. president receiving fellatio on numerous occasions in or near the Oval Office, then lying about it under oath, would have been successfully impeached. Is that a sign of increasingly progressive liberal attitudes? Or a lowering of moral standards? All I know is, as a teacher and as a parent, if you let wrong behaviour go uncorrected, you open the door to worse behaviour in the future. Successive presidents have borne that maxim out.

Send in someone else
I'm tired of romance
They call me "the game"
And anyone can play

Won't you come in and play with me?
Pump me, pump me up

They call this "the house"
We have need without feeling
Do you need the shame?
I can't escape from the sound

Won't you come in and play with me?
Pump me up, pump me up

My heart beats slowly
I'll tear your heart to pieces
I'm the face of love
And this love burns cold

Pump me up, pump me up
Won't you come in and play with me?

Pump It Up

(Imagine, Gary Numan wrote a song about the Lewinsky affair in 1984! What a visionary!)

Thank you to pixelstate for introducing me to the incredible AI art website that created the images of Bill Clinton. The photograph of the Wolf Moon is my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.