Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Hard work...

Today I started a new section on my Mull chapter.   I love taking the photography for  the book.  Preparing the maps is taxing but extremely satisfying, the historical research is fun to write but today I had to develop a fleet list from a plethora of books, leaflets, web links and bus club records and it's been - and still is - driving me nuts!

West Coast Motors apply cherished 'WCM' registrations numbers to many of their buses and coaches. Of those that don't, many have 'FNE' registrations - off a Glasgow company 'Fairline' that they acquired a few years ago.  Some of these buses were moved from Fairline to Borders Buses in Galashiels, others went to Dunoon, Ardrishaig, Bute and Mull.  Then after the summer seasons they all swap around again or are stored.  Some are sold and replaced and the replacement loses it's original registration and receives one of the released 'cherished' numbers.  There are only a dozen or so buses on Mull and today I'm trying to fathom out where they all came from.  Easy Peasy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.