Life + Photos

By Lucyknox

An explosive start to the day

Andy and I went to the post office nice and early this morning to send some post cards and a package, in what was meant to be a quick pre work trip. As usual things don't go to plan in Bolivia, and while we were quickly writing our post cards some very loud and very close explosions went off, eek! Looking towards the door we saw the post office steps were being guarded by about 50 police officers (with riot shields!) past them we could see that start of a protest march coming down La Paz's Main Street. We hurriedly finished our post cards and posted them off and eventually managed to squeeze through the policemen and quickly walk (well semi run) up a side street to the sound of hundreds of fire crackers and explosions! They were meant to stop using dynamite in marches, however I can now safely say that the dynamite is well and truly used!!

The traffic was chaos with the main road shut, so I eventually made it to the office at snails pace! I had my parents evening at my new centre this evening, where we introduced ourselves and what we are doing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.