Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Mother's Day Card

I received a couple of Mother's Day cards from friends, one was a special Blip friend who I cherish even though we've never met, both cards were beautiful and both were e-cards, but the only hardcopy card I received from family was from my son-in-law. I thought that was extra special.

I spent yesterday with our daughter, and today our son sent an extra long meaningful text to my phone, but this card from our son-in-law with a very special handwritten note inside is an enormous gift, especially since our family is a little more than upside-down at the moment.

For the most part, I think of Mother's Day as a day to remember my own mom and to think about how special she was in spite of the circumstances that she grew-up in and the marriage to my dad, her first husband, was. Mom just always kept stepping forward. She did not give-up. She had an ability to see a bright spot in some of the darkest situations.

I also think of Mother's Day here in the USA as a Hallmark Greeting Card holiday. I suppose Hallmark is an international company. For the most part they probably make holidays better, but certainly their bottom line is the almighty buck.

This holiday was also marked by the near 100 degree temperatures here today. That is ridiculously hot for the 12th of May. It's suppose to cool down beginning Tuesday. We'll welcome that.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.