Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bank

Before the Council spot how out of hand our verges are getting and come along and cut them, I thought I'd capture a bit of the wildness there is at the moment. Too many wild flowers to count on these banks. The field behind is generally used for cows, but there are no fences so the farmer relies on this steep bank to discourage the cows from wandering. They usually stay put.

A scorcher today and, with rain forecast tomorrow, I elected to spend the day outside (and have a slightly pink back - oops). I levelled the area for the hot garden, built the raised bed contraptions I bought yesterday.... and then changed my mind and decided to have one on the other side of the garden. That side was, this morning, a jumble of old pots and other garden miscellany tangled in a year's worth of weeds - so it took a good few hours to pull it all apart. The ground is now shorn of grass, weeds and debris and ready (after tonight/tomorrow's ground-softening rain) to be stripped of turf and dug over.

Exhausting. And, to my shame, I ignored the ironing yesterday in favour of od'ing on Broadchurch on the telly, so I have all that still waiting for me. Best get the washing in before the storm arrives....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.