Murmuration

By Murmuration

Smeaton's Bridge

Had to go into Perth today for a hair cut. Hate having my hair cut, she always straightens it, despite my protestations, and I come out looking like Dougal from the Magic Roundabout.
This is Smeaton's Bridge and this is my poem about Smeaton's Bridge
On Smeaton’s Bridge.
 
Pick a day, any day,
now, hold it in your head,
and let me guess.
 
Is it August?
Has the river trapped the sun
beneath its skin and spun it
to a shining molten thread?
 
Or late December,
when the skyline, coral sharp,
spawns one moon egg
to drift amidst a milt
of winter stars?
 
And am I with you on the bridge,
watching as the blackened
water snags like stocking silk
against the piers?
 
Is it here? Is it now?
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.