Where I used to live

This view has featured on blip before. It’s odd really I’ve not lived in Wellington since 1976, I’ve lived twice as long in Kent yet Wellington seemed so comfortable and familiar when I was walking up from the station last night and walking around the town this morning before the funeral.

My parents lived in that house from 1958 until Dad moved into care 2009 so it has been a destination for many years for me and the family and will always be our house.

Kevin’s funeral was very memorable and special. The officiant was one of the best I’ve ever heard. Lovely tones and moving delivery. I could have listened for hours.

And the wake was just as fulfilling, catching up with people who were young when I was young and who seem to have grown older since I left all those years ago. The banter and memories flowed as if they happened only the other day. Are we destined only to meet at funerals now?

There were so many changes in the town, yet its essence remained as it was when I was a boy. New houses have sprung up behind my parents house where there used to be fields. My infant school and secondary school are now housing g estates.

Yet Wellington Market remains as it was in its Victorian building. It was this Market that set me on my life’s journey. The geography teacher in my first year at secondary school set the task of drawing a plan of the market and noting the names of the stalls. That’s where my love of Geography started and has stayed with me until this day. I wish I still had that map.

Coming out of the station last night I was surprised to see Wellington still had its Christmas lights and tree illuminated. They were still on this evening. Is this the latest town in the country to still have its festive lights?

The journey back to Kent is not quite so problematic (yet). We are running 10 minutes late but it should not affect my train from Victoria

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.