Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

The Sacred and The Profane

Sunday is a day of rest, or so they say.

It was raining early this morning so no 8am swim/paddle meet with my mates.

The sun came out mid morning so I headed to Bray for beach walk and toe dipping.

An old friend of my husband’s who takes me to dinner occasionally, is very fond of the horses. That is to say, he likes to bet on the horse racing. Now when I was a child, my Dad let us back pennies on the Grand National, and that is the extent of my gambling history.

Every month this man sends me betting slips for horses with my name and who have won the race. I have told him that there is no need to do this. But he replies he enjoys doing it.

So today (yes I know Sunday) I went into Boyle Sports Betting Shop on the Vevay Road and I collected in excess of 100 euros. Holy Moly. And my plans are …. Full tank of petrol, new dress, beeswax candles from the lady in Wicklow. No rolling it on black number nine for me. Nope.

So I drove into Wolfe Tone to turn and head back down the Vevay and the Main Street and I came upon my main blip. A grotto to Our Lady for the Marian Year. (1954). I have to look into this and I know freespiral will help me.

It’s mid afternoon and 2 of my neighbours are coming for coffee. I bought some Lidl Curranty scones and will be served with blackcurrant jam and whipped cream. For the record, I make great coffee.

Vince my dog will be ecstatic- he loves my friends because they make a fuss of him but Mini always keeps her distance. She still does not trust others easily.

Please see extra to make you smile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.