Judith's photos

By Judith

Unusually for me, I didn’t take my camera when I went to do my gardening shift at the bowls club this morning so this is a phone photo.
Late last year, we got permission to cut down 5 palm trees that were growing in our main flower bed. They were hideous things, blocking the light and sucking the goodness out of the soil without giving anything in return - even the birds wouldn’t sit in them! As part of our planning application, the bowls club offered to fund the purchase of 5 mature trees, to be planted and cared for by the park rangers, who would also choose the best position in the park for them, i.e. for the benefit of the other park users.
But the stumps keep sending out suckers, so one of the rangers came back to have another go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.