The Shot at Dawn Memorial

The light was so stunning that I decided to head off out for a walk. Where better than the National Memorial Arboretum ? 

It was virtually deserted. Just gardeners and an occasional couple. I headed down to the river - lots of birds, an egret, and I thought I saw movement which could have been an otter. 

I followed the River Tame and then revisited the Shot at Dawn Memorial. This is at the far (forgotten? ) end of the site. It is so dreadfully sad. To think that shell shock, and other terrible mental health issues, were assumed to be treachery, insubordination, shameful and criminal. 

And conscripts as young as sixteen were shot at dawn…….

Reading the inscriptions is harrowing. Now we know better (I hope)…

Extra: one of the stories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.