Much Hoole

Picking up some sundries from one of our suppliers this morning I remembered visiting St Michaels Church in Much Hoole many years ago and thought it would make an interesting blip.
The church itself is quite charming and a Grade 2 listed building but what makes it interesting is that it commemorates Jeremiah Horrocks a young astronomer and the first person known to observe the Transit of Venus in 1639 from nearby Carr House.He was serving as a curate in St Michaels Church.
If you take the time to have a look at the extras the sundial on the tower bears the inscription SINE SOLE SILEO- 'Without the Sun I am Silent'.

With old churches featuring in my last two blips you may make the mistake that I am religious.I am not but I do find the buildings fascinating and full of local history.I do worry what will happen to these beautiful buildings when people eventually give up going.

Helen is showing her age and started watching Downton Abbey.I have to admit that I have on occasion been drawn in as well.It is like a sedative before bed.

A lovely sunny day.No frost this morning but a hard frost forecast overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.