Morning Sunshine on the Battlements

I had an early catch-up, (hence my picture of the castle resplendent in the newly risen sun) with a neighbour recently returned from a cruise to the Canaries. Despite all the islands visited, he found Gibraltar on the way home the most interesting with all its tunnels  which were constructed in the Napoleonic Wars but extended in WW2.


Afterwards I had occasion to walk west along Princes Street and then retrace my route east and doing that reminded me of my school days when Edinburgh felt like a small town and we friends used to do the Princes Street walk on a hockey free Saturday meeting almost everyone we knew on the way. Nowadays the city is an overcrowded tourist attraction and I never see anyone I know. In fact so busy am I watching out for broken and uneven paving slabs I would only recognise them by their shoes.



However as I walked the marches to Bruntsfield this afternoon I did bump into someone I used to cycle alongside on the CTC outings and it was very unexpected but so good to catch up on his news. 

 
I invested in a broadsheet newspaper this morning and remember why I don’t usually buy one: they are huge to hold and need to be read on the dining room table sitting on a hard chair in the cold. Not only that, there are so many parts to the paper that I will be reading it until next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.