" X "

If I am to go to this weekend's family wedding I had to have a pair of 'decent' flat shoes. The shoes I usually drag out for weddings have heels and I'm still too wobbly to wear them, so I was dropped off outside M&S to buy a pair of light coloured flat 'footgloves'. Beginning to understand why every wedding I've ever been to has at least one elderly relative in sandals (and a cardi). Sad to say I've arrived at that age where comfort and safety are preferable to high fashion, but at least cardis are a bit of a fashion statement at the moment. However I did buy a fascinator, a piece of decoration that leaves me bewildered and feeling like nothing more than a little girl dressing up. Hmmm.

On the way home, I asked if we could drive past the Cass Sculpture Park at Goodwood, to see the new piece standing outside the gates. At first glance it looked like a rusty perforated cube but I am convinced it's more than that. Outside rusty corten steel, inside polished mirror steel. Beautiful Sussex countryside around seems an odd contrast to this vaguely industrial piece, until I stepped inside by squeezing through the interlocking 'teeth', banging a knee and drawing blood in the process. The views in the mirrored steel are quite bewildering and I wanted to look outside through the 'entrances' the whole time, to make sense of it. The perforated forms are square, cube and cross, the overall form is a 300 x 230 x 230cm cube. The artist is a young Latvian American Viktor Timofeev, who describes 'X' as an attempt at a metal sanctuary. I think another Hmmmm is called for, but interesting experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.