All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Underpaid postage????

RANT ALERT!

One of my friends sent me a really nice card this week to make me smile. Trouble is, although she put a 1st class stamp on it, the Post Office have deemed it about 2mm too big to be classed as a "letter" which means that in their opinion a normal 39p 1st class stamp is 8p too little. Apparently it is a "large letter" which should have had either a 47p stamp for 2nd class or a 61p stamp for 1st class! As a result, they have charged me £1.08 (8p difference for stamps plus a £1 handling fee for the privilege of picking it up from their sorting office!!! Honestly - when did posting a letter get so complicated! I did know that there were different rules now but had no idea a card this size (it's by no means abnormally large) would have fallen into their new categories either! Grrrrrrr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.