Thank Eff

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

I have been keeping something from you. Not because it is private but just because it is dull and also I didn't want to think about it. 

So when I moved from Kainga Ora to Kiwibank it was via a different agency. And this agency pays monthly not weekly (not a big deal) and in arrears (somewhat of a bigger deal).

What this meant was that my last pay was 2nd December and then

NO

MORE 

PAY

Which, as you might imagine, is a bit scary given that in between 2nd December and now, there has been Xmas, Caro's birthday (and large party) and also some regular end of year bills that crop up in the NZ financial year (we pay our National Insurance as a lump sum in December).

So our bank balance went from relatively healthy at the start of Dec to scarily anaemic at the end of Jan. Credit cards maxxed out, bill payments delayed and both Caro and me desperately shuffling money around to try and pay for the essentials*. 

But today I finally got paid. Not that this was stress-free. I checked at 9am. No pay. I checked at noon. No pay. I emailed the agency. No answer. 

I ESCALATED THE EFF OUT OF IT

"Oh yes, your pay is coming," they assured me.

And finally it turned up. At 5pm. 

It immediately got swallowed by credit cards, unpaid bills etc. But it was exciting to be back in the black for a short period.

It was also less pay than usual because of mandatory Xmas hols. It will be the same next month. So we are going to have a "careful" couple of months ahead of us. 

All the same, relief was palpable in Paraparaumu today. 

And as for me, I've started shopping again. For travel stuff. The travel pillow that the Princess recommended and I've started looking at flights. 

It's going to be an expensive year. I might have to cancel Apple TV. 

S.

p.s. It continues to be hot here. Today's blip is Jasper all floppy in the shade under our garden table.

p.p.s. TODAY'S COVID PARTY COUNT: We are now at 15 people. Caro's personal trainer just came down with it. 

* Hedgehog food. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.